## Industry legends and school children honoured



The All India Glass Manufacturers Federation celebrated its platinum jubilee this September in New Delhi. The ceremony included the awarding of the the prestigious C K Somany Glass Award (supported by *Glass Worldwide*) and BalKrishna Gupta Award to Mr B L Kheruka and Firozabad Glass Shell Industries respectively.



The C K Somany Award for Innovation and Technology is supported by Glass Worldwide.

The Honorary Minister of State for Jal Shakti and Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment, Rattan Lal Kataria was the chief guest at this year's awards ceremony. Manish Asija, Member of the Legislative Assembly from Firozabad (Uttar Pradesh) was also in attendance, showcasing full commitment to the glass industry.

The 'Adopt a Glass Bottle' roadshow was bhighlighted, displaying a selection of drawings by school children on glass packaging aiding the Swachh Bharat Abhiyan (Clean India Campaign), a vision set by the Prime Minister on the path laid by Mahatma Gandhi. Along with the paintings, an exhibition of glass water bottles and other packaging solutions were placed on display. The roadshow will travel to other cities showcasing the vital role of glass, being the only 100% recyclable packaging material.

Winning students were awarded cash prizes: First prize (Rs 10,000) to Archisha Shyam aged 13 years, class eight student at Orchids International School, (Jalahalli) Bangalore; second prize (Rs 7000) to Pranav Singh aged 11 years, class six student of Bal



Honorary AlGMF General Secretary, Kailash Chandra Jain, AlGMF dignatories and invited guests were presented with an exhibition of glass water bottles and other packaging solutions.



Dharmendra Mohan Gupta collected the 'Balkrishna Gupta Award for Exports' on behalf of Firozabad Glass Shell Industries.



AIGMF President Raj Kumar Mittal marks the 75th anniversary of the AIGMF with honourary guests Rattan Lal Kataria and Manish Asija.



Nitin Dhand, Zonal Sales Manager at Borosil Glass Works Ltd collected the C K Somany Award for Innovation and Technology on behalf of Mr B L Kheruka.



Bharti School, Bahadurgarh (Haryana); third prize (Rs 5000) to Swastik Saha aged 10 years, class five student of Bal Bharti School, Bahadurgarh (Haryana).

The Honourable Minister also presented the AlGMF Glass Awards: The C K Somany Award for Innovation and Technology (supported by *Glass Worldwide*) to Mr B L Kheruka of Gujarat Borosil Ltd; and the Balkrishna Gupta Award for Exports to Firozabad Glass Shell Industries.

Acknowledging his valuable contribution in the fields of technology, manufacturing, innovation, services and education, an appointed panel of jury members unaminously selected Mr B L Kheruka. Born in 1930, Mr Kheruka is a pioneer in the glass industry and the Chairman of India's leading specialty glass manufacturing group, Borosil Glass Works Ltd. He presides over multiple vertical businesses, including laboratory pharmaceutical packaging (comprising vials and ampoules), consumer goods and solar glass.

"The contribution of Mr B L Kheruka to the Indian glass industry for more than 50 years cannot be overstated, right through from founding Window Glass Ltd in the 1960s to building the Borosil brand and overseeing the company's evolution to become the leading specialty glassware enterprise in India" commended Dave Fordham, Publisher of Glass Worldwide, the preferred journal of AIGMF in association with Kanch (quarterly journal of the AIGMF). "He is a most worthy recepient of the 2019 CK Somany Award for Innovation and Technology and Glass Worldwide is pleased to support the AIGMF in recognising Mr Kheruka's achievements and those of his family. We also offer sincere congratulations to Firozabad Glass Shell Industries upon being recognised for their export contributions with the 2019 Balakrishna Gupta Award."

Raj Kumar Mittal, President, AIGMF commented: "Firozabad Glass Shell Industries has been engaged in the manufacture of doubled walled glass refills (glass liners) for vacuum flasks since its inception in 1980. FGSI is today the largest manufacturer and exporter of glass refills from India with a share of about 65% of India's export of this product. The company is owned by Ram Kishore Gupta, Dharmendra Mohan Gupta and Sunil Mohan Gupta, who have over three decades in different spheres of glass production."

The jury for these awards comprised Dr K Annapurna, Senior Principal Scientist, Glass Division, Central Glass & Ceramic Research Institute (CSIRCGCRI), Kolkata; Dave Fordham, Publisher, *Glass Worldwide* (UK); Bharat Somany, Senior Vice President, AIGMF and Vice President, HNG & Industries Ltd; Mr M K Bansal, Executive Committee Member AIGMF and partner, Shri Sitaram Glass Works, Firozabad (UP; and Vinit Kapur, Secretary, AIGMF.

As a CSR initiative, the AIGMF gifted 100 glass water bottles with the Swachh Bharat Abhiyan logo to the Ashok Hotel,

venue for the ceremony. Also, as a token of appreciation, the first 100 drawing competition entrants were gifted a glass water bottle with the Swachh Bharat Abhiyaan (Clean India Campaign) logo, manufactured by Hindustan National Glass & Ind Ltd.

Further information: The All India Glass Manufacturers Federation, New Delhi, India

tel: +91 11 23316507 email: info@aigmf.com web: www.aigmf.com

